I write words to take the edge off.

Once I get them down on paper,

they are out of my head.

But you are forever in my head,

so it only works for a time.

.

When I lay next to you

I am always next to you.

You’re a pill that I take

without water

Because water or not,

I need to take you.

My soul needs you.

.

You are my soil

and my roots take you in.

You are my place

here, on earth

and whatever lies beyond this.

.

You could break my heart,

if that is what would make you happy.

And I would die happy with that very same heart.

.

You make me cry because

when I think about you

everything hits me all at once

.

It hurts

but at the same time, I’m floating.

You pin me down,

then set me free.

You keep me cool, then drive me crazy.

You’ll always be my

beautiful agony.

